Advocate – Many of the state’s top basketball teams will make their way to the Alario Center this week for the sixth annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic. The tournament begins Wednesday and concludes Saturday.

The boys field includes defending state champions from classes 2A (Riverside Academy), 3A (University High), 4A (Landry-Walker) and 5A (Scotlandville).

Riverside, fresh off winning the Country Day and Holy Cross tournaments, is seeking to win the National Prep Classic for the third time in four years.

The Rebels lost to Montverde (Florida) Academy, led by current LSU freshman Ben Simmons, in last season’s title game.

Some of the top boys in the tournament are Landry-Walker guard Lamar Peters (Mississippi State signee), Riverside’s Malik Crowfield and Herb McGee, U-High’s Wayde Sims and Jalen Johnson, Scotlandville’s Javonte Smart and Chalmette’s Mitchell Robinson.

The girls tournament will be split into platinum and gold brackets.

Defending 4A champion Easton and 3A champion U-High are among the teams in the girls field.

Among some of the top girls players are: Cabrini’s Rakell Spencer (Texas A&M signee), Destrehan’s Cara Ursin, Easton’s Kechelle Figueroa, Mount Carmel’s Kristen Nuss.

Pettigrew to play in Semper Fi

St. Augustine tight end Jamal Pettigrew is one of four state players who will be competing in Sunday’s Semper Fi All-American Bowl.

The game, played in Carson, California, kicks off at 8 p.m. and will be televised by FoxSports1.

Pettigrew is committed to LSU. He will be joined on the East squad by three other Louisiana players. They are Bastrop receiver Isaiah Graham, Parkway cornerback C.J. Morgan-Walker and Denham Springs defensive end Caleb Roddy.

USA Today All-State Team

USA Today released its all-state teams for all 50 states Thursday.

The publication’s all-state team for Louisiana had a definite local flavor, with 18 players from the Greater New Orleans area named to the team (nine first team and nine second team).

Local players named to first-team offense were: Brother Martin running back Bruce Jordan-Swilling, St. Augustine tight end Jamal Pettigrew and Curtis offensive lineman Willie Allen.

The first-team defense included Rummel defensive lineman Briston Guidry, Destrehan defensive lineman Glen Logan, McDonogh 35 linebacker Clifford Chattman, Ehret linebacker Michael Divinity, Easton linebacker Pernell Jefferson and Rummel defensive back Kristian Fulton.

Local players named to the second-team offense were: Brother Martin receiver Jeremy Singleton, Brother Martin tight end Irv Smith, Hahnville offensive lineman Drew Melancon and Rummel offensive lineman Larry Robinson.

Making second-team defense were Karr defensive lineman Andre Anthony, McDonogh 35 defensive lineman Sci Martin, McDonogh 35 defensive lineman Stephon Taylor, Destrehan defensive lineman Gerard Wilbon and Mandeville linebacker Johnathan Picone.

Lutcher coach Tim Detellier was named Coach of the Year.

Zachary quarterback Lindsey Scott was named Offensive Player of the Year and Kentwood defensive back Shyheim Carter was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Article Link: